The Toastmaster Inn
Built in 1812, this fine Free House was originally known as the Royal Exchange. The pub served the needs of the thirsty workers in the local cement industry for many years, and it is known that at one time its cellar served as the village mortuary! In 1964 the pub was purchased by Mr Sydney Ward , who, prior to his retirement to Kent, was a well known Toastmaster in London. It was he who gave the pub its current name, a name which is unique among English pubs.
Now owned by Mr Dean Shardlow , who has managed to retain the character of the place while extensively refurbishing the building, the pub is renowned for it's excellent selection of Real Ales and contemporary Restaurant.
Read about the Ghost at the Toastmaster Inn...